

# MINUTES ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY AGRICULTURE COMMISSION

DATE: Thursday, February 15 @ 9am

<u>Members Present</u>: Amy Crone (Chair), Deana Tice, Gary Palmer, Gerardo Martinez, John Faber, Al Tucker, William Ford, Anna Chaney, Stacy Eckels

## Members Absent:

**<u>Ex-Officio Present</u>**: Greg Swain, Preeti Emerick, Dave Scheler, Shelley Garrett, James Kitchen, Lynn Miller, David Miller, Billy Gorski, Dave Meyers, Janssen Evelyn

## Ex-Officio Absent:

Guests: Mike Stinger, Jane Cox, Yajaira Murphy

- I. Meeting called to order at 9:04AM by Amy Crone (Chair). Quorum established.
- II. Introduction New Member William Ford.
- III. Approve Minutes- Motion to approve minutes from 12/14/23. Motion by Gary Palmer, seconded by Deana Tice. Motion passed.
- IV. <u>Committee Discussion</u>
  - a. Administrative Committee Amy Crone
    - No Updates.
    - Vice Chair Position announced as opened please contact Amy Crone if interested.
    - New Member William "Billy" Ford, representing the grain farm sector.
  - b. Agriculture Education Committee Deana Tice
    - Discussed AG Education Center. Anne Arundel County being one of two counties who do not have an AG Education Center in the state of Maryland. The Center would become a facility where all agencies would come together in "one house" like Baltimore & Baltimore City.
    - Discussed the Southern FFA Program. The disconnection for students in other schools to access the program lies in principle-to-principal transfer. Discussion held on how the commission can help. Anna Chaney

recommended the commission request an AACPS board member attend meeting(s).

- Dave Meyers discussed the decline of students enrolled in Agriculture programs at the University of Maryland. Discussion held root causes for the decline on programs in high school impacting the University.
- c. Legislative Committee Anna Chaney
  - Site Development plans have been identified as needing modification to better serve the farmer. Discussion held. The legislative committee will be meeting to discuss changes.
  - The status of a Solar Study in Anne Arundel County was questioned by James Kitchen. Discussion held. James Kitchen to provide information as it develops.
  - Shelley Garrett brought house bill 13.88-noncompete and conflict of interest clauses—veterinary and healthcare professionals. Discussion held. The motion was made by Deana Tice and seconded by Al Tucker to write a letter of support for testimony at the bill committee hearing. Motion passed.
  - The codification of the agriculture commission would be beneficial to ensure the continuance of the commission when the County Executive changes. Discussion held. The motion was made by Gary Palmer and seconded by Deana Tice to task the legislative committee with developing code to implement the codification of the agriculture commission. Motion passed.
- d. Research Committee- Al Tucker
  - Power Point Presentation on the 2022 census was shown. Discussion held.
- V. <u>AAEDC Shelley Garrett</u>
  - Farmers are facing difficulties taking their refuse to county landfills. The current code requires you to charge any commercial vehicle and those vehicles must go to the Millersville landfill. Motion to task the legislative committee with amending the code to allow farmers to take their refuse to landfill at no cost. Motion made by Deana Tice and seconded by Gary Palmer. Motion passed.

## VI. <u>New business</u>

 Dave Meyers brought to the commission's attention the despair and lack of maintenance of the Naval Dairy Farm Property. Discussion held. Anna Chaney motioned Gary Palmer seconded to send a request to the county executive's office to implement a regular landscape and building maintenance schedule at the Naval Dairy Farm. Motion passed.
\*Gerardo Martinez abstained from voting.

Anna Chaney Motioned to adjourn the meeting. Gerardo Martinez seconded the motion. Motion Passed. Meeting adjourned at 10:33am.

Next Meeting: April 11 @ 9am

*Meeting agenda, minutes and audio can be found here:* <u>www.aacounty.org/boards-and-</u> <u>commissions/agriculture-commission</u>

## **Commission Members:**

- □ Al Tucker
- □ Amy Crone (Chair)
- □ Anna Chaney
- □ Billy Ford
- □ Brad Nordholm
- Deana Tice
- □ Gary Palmer
- □ Gerardo Martinez
- John Faber
- □ Stacy Eckels
- □ Vice Chair (Vacant)
- □ Secretary (Vacant)
- □ Member (Vacant)

## **Ex Officio Members:**

- □ Amy Gowan
- □ Billy Gorski
- □ David Miller
- □ David Meyers
- David Scheler
- Don Curtain
- □ Greg Swain
- □ James Kitchen
- □ Lynn Miller
- □ M. Jane Cox
- □ Michael Stringer
- □ Preeti Emerick

## AAEDC Staff:

- □ Shelley Garrett
- □ Yajaira Murphy